Pizza Rustica – Tuesdays With Dorie

Working from 8 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. ensured that once again, I had a late start preparing the PIZZA RUSTICA.  It is 11:17 p.m. and the dish is now out of the oven and cooling.  The aroma smells wonderful.  Several things I should note… the dough recipe called for use of a food processor which I don’t own.  Hard to believe with all the kitchen utensils I have that I’ve never purchased a food processor.  So, I worked the dough together initially with a pastry blender and then used my hands.  The end result was perfectly fine, no issues. I’d forgotten to include fresh parsley to my grocery list, which meant this was a missing ingredient in the filling.  Sigh…

While my Pizza Rustica was baking, I jumped on-line to read some posts of my fellow bakers.  Interestingly enough I’d already realized that this recipe was more Quiche like than Pizza like.  I’m always impressed to read how creative others are in their alteration of recipe ingredients.  Perhaps one of these days I’ll branch out and experiment as well.  I’ll have to follow up tomorrow and post my taste test results.  Bon Appetit ~

Leave a Reply

