Irish Soda Bread ~ Today’s BAKING with JULIA experience

How do you spell “Irish Soda Bread”? P R O C R A S T I N A T E. Finally, it’s 7:50 p.m. and my Irish Soda Bread is in the oven. I procrastinated and waited until 6:00 p.m. tonight to make a special trip to the store for Buttermilk, while shopping decided to pick up some Craisins to add to the dough. Having never tasted Irish Soda Bread, I’m having a hard time imagining what the flavor will be like. What an simplistically easy bread to make. Now, the fact that the bread can only be kept for a few hours and that if not eaten by the end of the day it will be as ‘hard as the Blarney Stone’ means we’ll be up until midnight eating bread.

8 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread ~ Today’s BAKING with JULIA experience

  1. A lovely looking soda bread! Mine stayed wrapped in plastic wrap for several days. I used it for toast when it was a bit stale, it still tasted great. Thanks for visiting me!

  2. Marvelous!!!! It must not have been a yeast bread where it needed to rise and fall several times. I bet it was yummy and the suggestions on keeping it I am sure it be still be yummy. I especially love my scones the day after when they are a little stale and dry. I then cut them in half and toast them, which makes the outside crunchy and the inside all fresh and yummy. Great!!!
    yum.my – adjective informal (of food) delicious : yummy Irish soda bread…highly attractive and desirable : I scooped up this yummy young man. I think I like the second use of the adjective. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I rarely buy buttermilk. If in a spur of the moment, I decide to make a recipe that requires it, I either dilute natural yogurt with water or I use milk+lemon juice. I like your idea with the craisins! Your bread looks yum!

Leave a Reply

